50 Years Ago From the Archives of The West Side Index • JUNE 10, 1971

Lowe, Bryan, Cope named to TVL baseball team

The Orestimba Warriors 1971 baseball champions of the Trans Valley League, landed three players on the league’s all-star team and brought home the Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Sophomore Jim Bryan, who will be playing his baseball for Turlock High next year, was the choice as the league’s Most Valuable Player. He was named to the squad as an outfielder and pitcher.

Art Rossetti was named Coach of the Year for his first season with the Warriors.

Mel Lowe was the only repeater on the TVL All-League team from Orestimba. The Warriors’ senior first baseman won an infield position for the second year in a row.

Sophomore Dan Cope was named to the dream team as a utility player.

Graduation at Bonita tomorrow

Seventeen students will graduate tomorrow night at Bonita Elementary School. Ceremonies will be held in the school gymnasium.

The salutatory will be given by Jacky Souza and Rusty Rovedatti will give the valedictory.

The class will and class prophecy will we given by Bill Verhaegen and Hector Rodriguez.

50 Years Ago From the Archives of The GUSTINE STANDARD • JUNE 10, 1971

School trustees will reconsider proposal 

Trustees of the Newman Gustine Joint Unified School District will take another look Monday night at an administrative assignment plan which they tabled for further study at their last meeting. 

The plan, drawn up and presented by Superintendent John Duncan would eliminate the Office of Assistant Superintendent and make extended duty assignments to school principals to cover the various duties of the Assistant.

Eighty-two seniors to receive diplomas

Gustine High School will graduate 82 seniors tonight at 8 p.m. in commencement exercises in the high school gymnasium. Holly Wagers, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Warren Wagers, will give the valedictory address and Joice Scroggins, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leon Scroggins, will give the salutatory speech. Senior Class President Jeff Larsen will present the class gift.

Seven girls enter Miss Gustine event

Seven Gustine girls had entered the Miss Gustine Contest as of Tuesday afternoon, as plans for the annual Fourth of July Celebration neared completion.

Entered thus far in the Miss Gustine Contest are Ivy Riddle, Doralee Shaw, Lori Salsa, Marie Alvernaz, Claudia McCoy, Donna Souza and Martha Wilkerson. Celebration Secretary Hester Kuhlemeier said that Cathy Bryant of Newman, the present Miss Gustine, would be on hand on the Fourth to assist in the coronation of her successor.