Photo: Newman champs

The Newman 8-and-under all-star baseball team claimed championship honors in a Hilmar tournament recently. Newman defeated Oakdale 18-8 in the title game. Team members include, front from left, Adrian Gonzalez, Damien Mendoza, Hunter Saunders, Sebastian Galvan, Jose Valenzuela, Kyler Cordeiro, Leon Huerta and Isaac Barnes. In the second row, from left, are Brandon Montes, Manuel Estrada, Chuy Garcia and Max Wright. In back, from left, are coaches Jayden Huerta, Sammy Huerta, Kevin Wright and Scott Barnes.